CTMH Inspiration Books

I couldn’t figure out what to make after finishing my Jasper mini album and the beginning of my sports mini. The contenders were 1) figuring out- then continuing on- whatever it was I began my personal scrapbooking with;  2) scrapbooking, in greater detail, our trip to Jasper (I took a couple hundred pictures, I think); or 3) making a card- or set of cards- using all, or mostly, Close to My Heart product.

The card won out, only because I was certain that I began a new personal album with a theme other than Jasper (it was further back in time than our recent trip. That much I knew). Secondly, I couldn’t remember exactly which pictures I began my album with- at that point in time. While I created these cards, I became certain I had only scrapbooked pictures as we began our trip (to Fernie).

As part of my Close to My Heart starter kit, two idea books were included- one for cards, and the other for general scrapbooking. They’ve both proven to be a great resource for me, even though I wasn’t sure I’d ever use them. I’m glad I was wrong. I think I’ll use them quite often.

This time, instead of jumping onto Pinterest or Google to spark creativity, I found a sketch that was simple to create and easy to interpret in my own way. (See picture below).

image

What I love about these idea books is that all the measurements are clearly written out and marked,  the steps and directions are easy to follow, and in the scrapbooking idea book, alternate page designs are also noted. More on that in a bit.

image

I used a mixture of papers on the project- some Close to My Heart and a touch of Momenta (in fact, all the bits and pieces of patterned paper on the first few cards in this set are scraps. The flower is Jolee’s Boutique (which were on sale at Michaels. Woop!) Rhinestones came from the Dollar Store.

image

This book is UBER cool. I can hardly stand it! So, you find a sketch you really like. But, it won’t work with your pictures. After trying to rotate the design, and still nothing works, what are you to do? Why not try their alternate designs?! Three alternate designs are included with nearly every sketch; use them as is, or rotate and rework one of those until it gels. I love it!

image

Here’s my take on the design in the picture above. I had already printed the pictures, and wasn’t about to print them again in the right dimensions.  So, I improvised- and then I embellished as I desired. You’ll find Carta Bella in the background, as well as a mix of  CTMH Ivy Lane and Timberline patterned papers. All the stamps and ink are also CTMH. 

These publications are available from Close to My Heart if you’re looking for an inspiration starter every once in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

