Lollydoodle Card Tutorial

I thought I’d share with you- step by step- the card we made at my Open House on Saturday. If you don’t have the products I mention/use, no fear! Use what you have on hand, or if you MUST have what you see in the pictures (because you can’t live without it, naturally), don’t hesitate to get in touch with me. I can hook you up! Oh- also, if you’re not a paper crafter and have no desire to pick it up, but DO like the card a lot, I have 5 on hand that are available for purchase.

To start, the paper I used is from the Lolly doodle collection. I love the floral look and feel to the patterned paper- and I love that the B & T duos perform double duty. Since the paper is double-sided, I utilized both sides of the paper on this project. (B & T duos is CTMH’s definition of double sided paper).

You will need:
-paper trimmer
-border punch
-patterned paper, 12×12 sheet
-cardstock, 12×12 sheet
-ink
-acrylic or wood mounted stamps
-rhinestones
-adhesive

First, trim your 12×12 sheet of card stock to a 6×12 sheet. Fold in half to make a 6×6 card. Fold becomes the top of the card.

Secondly, measure and trim 2 inches off the bottom front of the card.

image

You’ll use the discarded piece to punch a border then re-attach to the front, bottom inside, leaving a quarter-inch scalloped border along the bottom. (Refer to picture below).

image

Cut your 12×12 patterned paper into a 6×6 square. Adhere on the inside of the card, so the desired pattern faces out.

image

Trim 0.5, 1 and 1.5 inch wide strips from coordinating patterned paper (or the same patterned paper you chose to adhere inside the card). Adhere 0.5 inch strip to the bottom front of card, just above the scalloped border.
image

Adhere the 1 inch strip to the center of the larger strip, then adhere 1/4 inch from the top front of the card.

image

Stamp sentiment/image above bottom border and add rhinestones to embellish.
image

Finito!

Don’t forget- if you like this card and want to re-create it using the products I did, please contact me. You can also find this particular pattern- and many others- in the Close To My Heart Originals inspiration book by Jeanette R. Lynton (also the founder of Close to My Heart)!

These cards are also available for sale- $5.50 each or $25 for the set of 5.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

