Good Thing…

Last night would have been the perfect night for uninterrupted, delicious scrapbooking. My husband was going to be home late, and the busyness and chaos of our play date earlier in the day were the perfect ingredients for an enjoyable evening alone.
Mother nature had other plans. Just as we were about to start our bedtime routine, lightning struck a power pole, which created a power outage that stretched late into the evening. (I must have fallen asleep, because the power coming back on at 11:10 last night woke me up). Although the girls were super worried about the storm we had and the resulting power outage, they surprisingly fell asleep well before 10 last night. Poor M didn’t sleep well between falling asleep at roughly 1 am, but once her daddy was home and the occasional clap of thunder subsided, she slept fitfully. I sure didn’t,  but that’s another story.
All that to say there was no scrapping in the cards for me last night. Once it got too dark to rely on natural light, I discovered that candles are pretty much useless if you have nothing to light them with. Luckily, I found an LED light that clips to the BBQ; it provided enough light for me to putz around on my phone until it died. Then of course, it was bedtime!
It’s a good thing I got a card made late yesterday afternoon, after child inspired chaos faded and before natural, meteorological chaos ensued.

image

Once more, this sweet little card was inspired by Close to My Heart projects, as well as CTMH product. The original had a strip of three tiny flowers punctuated with rhinestones in their centre’s lining the middle of the card. I wasn’t feeling it, so replaced it with one large accent. To add a bit more drama, I adhered black card stock to the embellishment, then fussy cut around the entire piece. To finish it off, I tied some bakers twine around the top, fastening it to the card with a CTMH resin flower.

Supplies:

– CTMH Balloon Ride patterned paper
– CTMH Complements
– CTMH resin teal flower
– Recollections card stock (cream, Sky and black)
– Momenta patterned paper (blue)
– border punch
– bakers twine
– pop dots
– adhesive

Leave a Reply

