Haunted House

Personally, I do not like the hype around halloween. Well…most of it. I love dressing my kids up, and I love the idea of getting myself dressed up (living vicariously through my children, obviously); but, as far as decorations goes, I think its tacky. I personally prefer to decorate in a more “harvest” style or theme. Its much more my taste. That preference also translates to my scrapbooking, though I have very few harvest and/or halloween themed layouts. Of the ones I do have, they are decorated more “cutesy” than anything else. Maybe its time to remedy that!

Creating this layout completely brought me out of my comfort zone, making me incredibly thankful I have the tools necessary to create a fun- and child friendly- halloween layout!

10735846_10152302019856548_489849180_n

To cut the haunted house scene, and bats, I used Close to My Hearts’ Artbooking Cricut cartridge. Oh my word- so much fun! There are a ton of different scenes to create (festive occasion or otherwise), and a number of variations within each of those scenes. I used the Potpourri Basket Cartridge to cut the clouds out and the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge for the moon. I lucked out creating the moon- I just happened to find the perfect patterned paper (Recollections) for it! I wanted to find something that would give the illusion that it was real, and the marble effect in the paper did just that! The rest of the patterned papers are Close to My Heart (Scaredy Cat), both A and B sides. To finish it off, I matted the cream patterned paper on black card stock.

Next on the docket- a pirate themed layout! And, to keep you in a little more suspense, the next project after that (which I’ve been alluding to for a while now), will involve burlap in one way or another. Stay tuned- lots more goodies on the way shortly!

Leave a Reply

