Warm and Cozy

I have a new layout to share with you today, and last weeks’ page in my gratitude journal. Before I share that, I thought I’d let you know that Jeanette over at Close to My Heart has posted the first of many more weekly challenges on the CTMH Facebook page. You have until Friday to get your submissions in; if you play along, you’ll be entered into a draw for a prize. How cool is that?! To join the fun, head over here. (I’m playing along- you’ll find my gratitude journal posted to their FB page). Don’t forget to use the hash tag #jrlcreativechallenge on your submissions!
Rather than using Snowhaven patterned papers in this layout,  I chose to use Balloon Ride instead. *Gasp*! The horror! It was time to use something else, I figured. I was in the mood for a change. Change is good, especially if the changes you’re making are improvements over the old ways of doing things! I consider this a {temporary} improvement- only in the way that too much of a good thing is never a good thing. Ha!

image

The color scheme in this layout was actually inspired by my sisters’ pajama pants in this picture. I tried sticking with green, blue and brown (kraft), with the occasional punches of red. I stamped a few Christmas trees and fussy cut them. You’ll find that until I bought and set up my Cricut Explore,  I tried avoiding using my Cricut, if at all possible. (Layouts made using my Cricut Explore are coming in the very near future. This gal is smitten!!) I wasn’t very fond of the quality of the die cuts when I used my Cricut Expression; it was more trouble than it was worth. I never had the heart to tell my husband, since it was a wedding gift from him. He knows now, but I only told him after it came up (naturally) in conversation. When he asked me why I hadn’t made the switch, I felt safe telling him. The best part is that I got it for Christmas this year. Whoop!
To embellish this layout, I used some Snowhaven chipboard. They didn’t quite fit my color scheme- especially the large warm and cozy chippy. To tone down the whiteness of it, I sprayed some Ranger Ink spray ink on it, in teal and sunflower. Then, I outlined the title in black pen to help the lettering stand out a bit more. Lastly, to tie the black that’s found in the chipboard pieces into the rest of this layout, I matted the red stamped images on black card stock.
I’m pretty stoked about having finished another week of recording what I’m grateful for. I learned, however, that I forgot to include what I’m grateful for on day 2, so my journal was off by a day. To make up for it, I explained what happened on day 11. I’m back on track again! This picture is a bit dark because I took it last night in my haven. I placed it directly under my desk light, but it just isn’t the same as daylight.

image

I also took a snapshot of the next page in my gratitude journal.

image

You’re welcome. I can’t wait to start filling this page in!

Leave a Reply

