Family Layout

image

I realized while I was writing the journalling on a layout that I’ll show you in a future post, that at the point in our lives that I’m currently scrapbooking, we had been in our current house for just a mere three months. We bought our house in October of 2011, so it now makes sense why most of our family was at our house over the holiday season: they wanted to check out our new digs, especially since it was the first time in a few years they’d been affordably able to visit us. Prior to this point, we were 800 kilometers from our families, so this was a big deal.
I wanted to scrapbook these photos- especially the one on the right, because of the goofy shenanigans my husband was up to. (Sorry my watermark obscures it!!) My MIL had no idea- and actually, looking back on it, my husband wonders “what the hell was [I] up to?!” I don’t know, but it makes me giggle!
There’s a few things to note about this layout. First, I created the title block totally with my Cricut. The family die was cut twice- once in pink and a second time in Grey.  To give it a more dramatic effect, I used my Martha Stewart glitter to fill in the Grey portion of family. My CTMH Liquid Glass works phenomenally well as an adhesive. As always, make sure you set it aside with ample of time to dry. The less liquid glass that’s used, the sooner it dries.  I also added some rhinestones and fussy cut flowers- I used simple things that reminds of my MIL. (The flowers highlight her love of gardening). I also doodled around the title block in white pencil crayon (yes, of all things, a pencil crayon. My sewing kit never gets used. At least the marking pencil inside it is useful, even if it’s for the wrong application!!) I think it finishes it off quite nicely.
Secondly, I included hidden journalling. The pink tag is an entity entirely unto itself. I stamped on it, border punched it, die cut it using my Cricut and wrote on it. It’s almost a mini masterpiece. Leave nothing half done. Go big, or go home!
Lastly, I really want to create a layout using every single color found in the embellishment cluster in the upper left corner of my layout. The white, teal, Glacier (ink color in the little arrow), Grey and pink is purely heavenly! Looking at it inspires me!
What unexpected color schemes inspire you?

Materials:
– CTMH Glacier Exclusive Inks
– CTMH Glacier Card stock
– CTMH Fundamentals Card stock
– CTMH Magical Moments My Acrylix Stamps
– CTMH Ivy Lane My Acrylix stamps
– CTMH Have a Happy Day
–  CTMH Heartstrings
– CTMH Liquid Glass (as adhesive)
– Recollections white, black, green, grey and pink card stock
– Misc. washi tape
-misc. rhinestones
– Fiskars scallop border punch
– SU ribbon
– Martha Stewart border punch
– Martha Stewart glitter in Silver
– Cricut M46C1F
– Cricut M46CDF
– Cricut M45113
  

Leave a Reply

