Stretching Your Stash

I seem to remember mentioning in the past, that I’m not much of a double page scrapbooker, but I will do the odd double page if I have enough pictures of one subject. Sometimes I’ll split those pictures up if there’s more than one topic I want to explore. Such as the pictures I’m scrapbooking of my in laws visit at the end of December 2011. My MIL helped me spruce up my home at the same time we celebrated a belated Christmas with them. Today’s double page spread focuses on celebrating with them- spoiling my kids. My kids were absolutely spoiled at Christmas time, so I tried sticking with that particular theme here.

image

I cut the title, tag and bathroom people with my Cricut, using glitter, stamping and washi tape to punch them up; the rest of the embellishing was stamped and fussy cut! 
First, the crown portion of the title was cut twice, so to give it some depth, I used my Martha Stewart glitter again. I also used 3D square adhesives to pop it up a bit. The jewel, which you see layered underneath the “s” of spoiled, I pieced together after cutting with my Cricut. I also gave it the “sparkle” treatment, by covering it CTMH’s Liquid Glass. It seems a little flat, and it’s hard to see in the picture, but it is glossy.
Next, I had fun covering the bathroom people (is there another proper term for these people?? This is what I’ve always called them! Ha!) I used pink washi tape that I had in my stash, and painstakingly layered washi over them for more visual interest. (I also used my negative portion in one of my gratitude journal pages. Week 4, I do believe. To see for yourself, go here.
Lastly, I stamped the rest of the embellishments using CTMH inks and stamps.  The this week star burst circle was also fussy cut and adhered using 3D pop dots. To complete the embellishment cluster in the upper right corner of page 2, I added a bit of journalling.
A little tip to remember to stretch out the usage of a single piece of patterned paper or card stock, is to cut it in half (or smaller!) See the green pieces of patterned paper on each end of my double page spread? I had only one 6×6 sheet of that particular paper left, and I wanted to use it in both pages, to keep my color theme coordinated. To solve that problem, I cut it in half and adhered each half at either end of my spread. And actually, the same is true of the white heart patterned paper on the far left and far right edges of each page in this spread, too! Can you think of other ways to stretch your stash?

Materials:

– SU patterned paper
– MME (My Minds Eye) patterned paper
– Momenta 6×6 patterned paper
– CTMH White card stock
– CTMH True to Life My Acrylix stamps
– CTMH Smokey Plum Exclusive Ink
– Cricut M446D2
– Cricut MFC5CA
– Cricut M41E72
– Misc. Pink washi
– Martha Stewart glitter in Charoite 

Leave a Reply

