Lovely {Little} Buddies Layout

image

Hello, welcome to Wednesday! I have another layout to help you get over the hump day blahs. It’s another drab, blah day here- overcast and not much sun. I hope yours is brighter and better!
I realized when I sat down to put this layout together, that I need to work on boy themed layouts! In my defence, I have only daughters, and since I’m a girl, I find it easy to find and buy girly embellishments and papers. Every once in a while, though, boys will pop up in my layouts- whether it be the girls’ daddy or their “boyfriend”, their bestie B. This little dude and his younger brother, were the girls first playmate when we settled in Whitecourt. We don’t spend much time together anymore, but when R sees us at school in the mornings, he still says hello. My girls don’t remember him.
My girlfriend lent me (and eventually let me keep) the Fast & Furious (CTMH) My Exclusives stamp set; the wheel tread stamp worked well to add a boyish element to my background- on top of stamping with my stamping blocks, lots of spritzing and a touch of blue acrylic paint (to mat the photos on).  I cut a snowflake background with my Cricut Explore and used it as a mask on my background.
I also cut bow ties to encourage more of a masculine theme. I spritzed them, inked the edges and heat embossed them with some distress powder; I placed one on the picture of R, and the rest over the flowers, just for some boy/girl contrast. That would also be why I stamped the dress form onto the background and added flowers. I couldn’t resist. I have daughters and I’m a girl, after all. If I had boys, I might find creating feminine pages harder. That’s my theory.

image

I should also point out that I altered the paper flowers. A lot. I began by spritzing them with sunflower and green patina ink, then I inked the edges (after the spray ink dried). Next, I stamped over them with a background stamp. Lastly, I used a sponge dauber to ink the centres of most of the flowers.

image

image

image

Here’s what I used:

CTMH:
– White card stock
– Lagoon My Exclusives Ink
– Juniper My Exclusives Ink
– Pear My Exclusives Ink
– Fast & Furious My Acrylix Stamp set
– unknown My Acrylix Chicken Wire stamp
– Skylark Assortment
– Sweet and Lovely My Acrylix stamp set
– You Are My Happy Alphabet My Acrylix stamp set
– Sweet Leaf My Exclusives Ink

MISC.:
– Tim Holtz Distress Powder in Shabby Shutters
– unknown dress form stamp
– Recollections flowers
– Recollections paper leaves
– DecoArt Acrylic Paint in Spa Blue
-Cricut bow ties, “buddies” in title
– Ranger Perfect Pearls Ink in Copper
– Ranger Perfect Pearls Ink in Sunflower
– Ranger Perfect Pearls Ink in Green Patina
– Hexagon mask, unknown
– Snowflake mask, cut with Cricut Explore

Leave a Reply

