Masculine Birthday Card

Hello! Spring break up is upon us, which means my husband won’t be working- or working as much- as he has lately (or all year). Hopefully it’s a short break up season. With our economy and new provincial budget, I’m worried how his lack of work is going to affect our family with a single income. Very unnerving days are upon us. One thing I’d like to know: when did I turn into my parents?! I remember them stressing over King Ralphs reign; we survived, and his changes to our provincial budget turned into a really good thing. New generation- new provincial budget. I’m sure we’ll survive, but the future looks incredibly foreboding- much like my parents thought (I’m sure) back in the day. 
On a bright note, I’ve got a card to share with you. It was made by special request by a family friend. I have moments where I’m ok with taking “custom orders” again, but they’re few and far between. I may take the odd custom order (card) in the future- if the conditions are right (ie. Time, amount, complexity, motivation…)
Not sure what I’m talking about? There was a time that my main ambition in this dream of mine was making and selling handmade product. I’m still interested in selling- Close to my Heart products- and not as much handmade product. My dream now is more editorial in nature.  I’m happy with blogging, and have had a positive start, but one day I’m hoping it’ll evolve into something more. More- as in producing my own crafty magazine or literature, or landing a spot on a paper crafting team somewhere as a freelance writer/contributor.  We’ll see where time brings me!

image

This is the inspiration I began with. My customer, if you will, found this card on Pinterest and requested that I make something like it. Here’s my version:

image

I showed her the tool stamp set you see stamped on this card before I started. Once I had her approval, I got to work. I began by stamping the saw image in CTMH Bamboo ink, then matted it on strip of cream card stock (also stamped with saws), green dry embossed card stock and bits of Timberline patterned paper. She mentioned that blue is the recipients’ favorite color, so I pulled the blue Lagoon color out of the Timberline patterned paper and carried it into the rest of the card. The card base was made with CTMH Lagoon card stock. Lastly, I stamped the birthday image in Ponderosa Pine ink and added some rustic SU nail- inspired brads.
What do you think? I’m slightly obsessed with the carpentry tool background- I’ll be using those stamps again in the future! Did you know? The tool stamp set I used is actually a Father’s Day stamp set?!

One thought on “Masculine Birthday Card

Leave a Reply

