CTMH Base and Shade Technique

Hello friends! This week is just whizzing by! I’ll be away Friday through Sunday- I’m headed to a crop with a friend. I’m looking forward to a couple days away.

It was an “I don’t want to mommy” type of morning. I think the kiddos are ready for a break too.

So, after dropping them at school, I came home and avoided everything, except playing a bit and doing laundry. I should have vacuumed. Meh, oh well. The floors can wait until tomorrow.

Today, I have another layout to share. A sketch by Laura Whitaker inspired today’s project. Here’s the inspiration:

image

Here’s what I made using it:

image

I rotated the sketch 90° to work with my pictures. This cat was such a pleasure- and neurotic- at the same time. I really liked her (and I like to think she liked me, too), but she didn’t stay with us long.

You’ll see some CTMH White Pines in the background, and Momenta (I believe) patterned papers layered ontop. The flowers were stamped with Beloved Bouquet and Glacier, Lagoon, Sweet Leaf and Juniper inks.

Some time ago, I promised I’d share the Base and Shade stamping technique. It’s really very simple to achieve.

First, you’ll need layering stamps, such as CTMH Beloved Bouquet. Next, choose the inks you’d like to use.

image

You can either stamp your Base and Shade images on scrap cardstock or directly onto your project.

(I stamped mine on scrap cardstock, then fussy cut them out, adhering to my project later on.)

When you begin, stamp the base image first- meaning the flat stamp that has no grooves or lines in it. (See below).

image

For a crisp, even image, make sure to keep the buffer that comes with your stamps underneath your cardstock. Without it, your image will come out looking uneven and “holey”.

Next, layer the detailed stamp, the shade portion, ontop. You’ll create depth and shading by layering your stamps together.

image

Isn’t that easy? And, doesn’t it look lovely? I’ve been using this technique on a lot of my projects- I adore the final result! It’s so life like and yummy!

Find this stamp set, and so much more on my website. Most, if not all, your papercrafting needs will be met there.

Thanks for joining me today. As always, I appreciate you taking the time to drop in!

Leave a Reply

