Western and Beach Theme Cards

Hello everyone! It’s a blustery day in my neck of the woods today. Yuck. I woke up around midnight last night from the wind, and it’s still blowing now. The sun is trying to shine in between all the clouds filling the sky. Hopefully tomorrow will be a more sunshiney day than today is.

I have a couple custom cards I whipped up yesterday to show you, and later this week, I’ll return to sharing all the great stuff I’ve been trying to post over the last month or so. Slow and steady wins the race.

If you missed it, I accept special requests for cards and custom scrapbook albums- all at a reasonable price. You can read more about it here.

The person that requested these cards is a returning customer- I made Princess and the Frog themed wedding invitations for her. While I’m pleased she’s asking for more cards, I’m also pleasantly surprised. I made the wedding invitations over a year ago!

No matter. I’m pleased she remembered me and asked for more hand made cards. The two cards I made have very specific themes- one is western themed and the other is beachy. 

image

To create the western card, I first turned to Pinterest. I needed some ideas- which, there was lots! I came across horse shoes, horses,  stars, cacti…I really liked the cacti, but I have nothing of the sort in my stash, so settled on a unicorn turned horse.

(I plan to remedy the cacti problem. CTMH carries adorable stamps and coordinating dies that work with most non electronic die cutting machines!) View them here.

I had burlap left over from a banner I had made for a dear friends’ wedding, so trimmed the pennants off and layered it on top of the card base. My liquid glass (CTMH) worked well to adhere it.

Next, I adhered black lace to white cardstock (to help it pop against the kraft background better)- once again using my liquid glass. I thought burlap and lace worked well for a western theme.

To finish, I inked the edges of the image mat and card base using CTMH Barn Red and Cocoa inks, and added a bow beneath the image.

(The inside of the card has Best Wishes stamped on it).

image

I also searched for beachy card ideas on Pinterest too. I immediately thought of using CTMH Seaside, but I don’t have the entire collection. Then I remembered that I’ve had a SU nautical stamp set in my stash for quite a few years. That would work!

I stamped the background using CTMH Whisper, Flaxen and Juniper inks, then layered the anchor on top, using CTMH Basic Black ink.

I used long retired CTMH sticker alpha stickers for the title, and the button and twine have been lurking in the depths of my stash for quite a while.

(I want to make the beachy/nautical card again- but smaller). Stay tuned for it sometime in the future!)

Holla at me if there’s a special or unique card you’d like made. If not, how do western and beach themes inspire you? I’d love to see! Share what you make when you’re done!

Leave a Reply

