Family is Forever Water Color Layout

Good morning, dear friends! It’s shaping up to be a wonderfully warm day! I can’t wait to get out and enjoy it!

The layout I’m sharing today, is a mixture of watercolors and patterned papers. I began with this sketch by Laura Whitaker.

image

I like creating the watercolor effect using Faber-Castell Gelatos. Know what they are? Have you ever heard of them?

I would call this product a water-soluble crayon that’s very much like lipstick. It has the same creamy texture lipstick does, and is packaged similarly. It twists from the bottom so that as you use it, more comes out- similar to a twistable glue stick.

They come in a wide range of delicious colors, which are available in packs or individually, I believe.  I bought mine from Michaels, but you can purchase them from your LSS (local scrapbooking store), art stores or directly from Faber-Castell.  I like using them so much, I want more! This product is quickly becoming another go-to, next to paper and washi tape. I love how easy it is to use!

image

In my next post, I’ll share how I go about creating the water color background you see in the layout above. You’re going to need a craft mat, spray bottle and heat tool (or a blow drier) for this technique.  Stay tuned!

Also, in the near future, I’ll be sharing my first experience with a hot new trend called Pocket Letters. If you’ve never heard if it, you’ll want to keep an eye on my blog! If you have, maybe you could give me some pointers! Haha!

2 thoughts on “Family is Forever Water Color Layout

Leave a Reply

