Pocket Letters

Good morning from the sunshiny campground! The eldest twin and I are the only ones up, so I’m going to visit with you for a bit!

I mentioned a couple days ago, that I was inspired to get into snail mailing because I joined a Pocket Letter challenge at scrapbook.com. I had no idea what it was before joining, and was still fairly naive to it all up until the participants started displaying their letters.

Oh.My.WORD.

I am in way over my head. I enjoy scrapbooking, but this is way too complicated!

Do you know what pocket letters are? Have you ever heard of it before?

Google defines pocket letters as sending a letter to pen pals in pocket letter format, that is by filling and decorating a 9 pocket trading card page protector and mailing it to them.

image

Here’s a visual example:

image

Typically, pocket letters will have a theme that you and your pen pal will discuss and decide upon beforehand. As you can see from the image above, the theme was probably winter. It’s gorgeous, isn’t it?

Creativity is key when creating your pocket page layout. Use any medium you’d like, get as messy as you’d like, or keep it as c+s as you’d like. No holds barred!

Behind each pocket is hidden little treats, trinkets and goodies that your pen pal sends to you, and you send back to them. Here’s the trick: use your imagination!

Send rhinestones, tea, ribbon, washi tape, metal trinkets, die cuts…the sky’s the limit!

Sounds intriguing, doesn’t it? I thought so, too! That’s why I joined the challenge at scrapbook.com. (Look under forums if you’re a member there).

If something like this interests you, here are some links to check out:

Janette Lane
Pocket Letter Pals
The Classroom

Plus there are many, many YouTube videos, Instagram pics and links to Facebook and Pinterest to inspire you, too.

I hope you enjoyed today’s post! Join me again soon for more creative inspiration!

3 thoughts on “Pocket Letters

  1. I love the idea of pocket letters. I really want to get into it but I can’t actually get the 9 pocket page protectors here which is a crucial element of the whole pocket letter xD

    • I haven’t looked here for them, but had regular old project life page protectors on hand. I used it as an alternative. I say use whatever works for you!

Leave a Reply

