Shoestring Planner Tuesday

Welcome to my first official planner post! Eep!

As you’ll recall, I jumped on the Planner bandwagon recently. I think I’m slightly infatuated with the idea of it right now. I’m pinning lots of inspiration to my Pinterest, and earlier this morning, I joined a Facebook group or two. (Oh, and not just planner groups…snail mail and pocket letter groups, too.)

I’m excited to share my planner with you! You’ve already seen my planner makeover– which isn’t holding up so well. Obviously, I didn’t use the right adhesive. Anyone have other suggestions? Would mod podge work? Thank goodness it hasn’t travelled anywhere with me yet!

Here’s a glimpse into the last week of my life-

image

In the last week, I learned three things. First, if I’m going to stamp in my planner, I either need to stamp on scrap cardstock, then fussy cut the image out before adhering, or stamp a second generation image. The paper is too thin for a stamp that’s full of first generation ink. A lot of it soaks through the paper. I don’t really like that.

Secondly, I think I’ll do some preliminary decorating before I jot in activities, reminders and appointments. I just mean that I’ll add washi, pennants or other embellies before adding entries. I wound up covering a lot of what I’d initially written, only to add it in again after embellishing. I’m just chalking that up to trial and error. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Amirite?! Once things have been filled in, I’ll finish off with more stickers, enamel dots or die cuts.

Lastly, plain black gel pen only is boring. I want more color in my planner entries, so I may hunt down some different colored gel pens from the Dollarama. If that doesn’t work, I might need to drop by Michaels one of these days. (I need to stock up on 8.5×11 white cardstock, too…)

(After seeing pretty gel pens in a Pinterest post, I’ve concluded I need some!)

What techniques or mediums have you wanted to try in your planners? Me- I really want to try some water color and mixed media…but, the pages are so thin, I’m hesitant. What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Shoestring Planner Tuesday

  1. Ya, I’m always careful about using stamps in my planner – I tend to stick to small stamps because too much ink easily goes through the page and then the next week you have to figure out how to cover it up so you can use the space.
    As for adhesives…my preferred adhesives are modge podge and pritt stick. I find them pretty good but if it’s for something that I need to be neat and don’t want to worry about glue, I use double sided sticky tape – maybe that could work.

    • I’ve never heard of pritt stick. I’ll have to look it up! And, I just so happen to have double sided tape I bought by mistake. Now I have a use for it. Thanks!

      • Pritt stick is definitely the best glue stick that you can find. Sometimes I buy cheaper ones because well, I’m cheap but I tend to regret that when things don’t stick down. And I’m a huge fan of using double-sided tape – I’ve got a drawer full of different widths. So handy because you can take your time and don’t have to rush because the glue will dry up.

Leave a Reply

