CTMH Thankful Heart Layout

Hello friends, happy Tuesday! It was a busy morning filled with grocery shopping and picking out the perfect scratching post for the new addition to our family- Ava!


We adopted this sweet ginger from our local vet/pound, and she’s a perfect fit for our family! The pound is located inside one of the vet offices here in town, and I follow it religiously on Facebook. I’m smitten with nearly all the animals they post to their page, but Ava spoke to me. She came home with us mid week last week. And actually, as of tomorrow, I’ll be celebrating Gregory’s one year anniversary crossing the rainbow bridge. I’m so glad I’ve got another set of four adorable feet to grace the floors in my house.

The twins are smitten with her, and LOVE that she’s playful and chill. She’s Gregory’s total opposite- sweet, cuddly and loves to play. She’s also just 6 months old. Gregory was 4 when I brought him home, but he was never a player. We’re so glad this one is! Anyways, there she is all cozy up in her nest. I think she likes it!

In other news, I have another layout to share with you!

And, speaking of being Canadian, have you caught the new bundle that’s available for us Canadians, only?! I just ordered it, and I can hardly wait for it to arrive on my front steps! I’m super stoked about the digital Cricut cart that comes along with it…I can’t wait to use it on my layouts! Here’s a picture of it, in case you missed it:

What’s included in it, you may ask. Well, not only do you get the Cricut cartridge, you’ll also get a variety of sheets of card stock (4 mink, 1 willow, 2 cranberry, 1 black, 3 white daisy and 1 linen…some of those are new colors coming out in September, too!) and the icing on the cake is the Canada 150 My Acrylix Stamp Set. Close to My Heart is an official authorized licensee of the Canada 150 design, so don’t worry about this being a rip off or cheap knock off. Its the real thing! (If you don’t want the entire bundle, why not just add the Canada 150 logo to your arsenal?! That’s part of the reason I’m ordering this kit…I don’t have anything else with the logo on it. This is my chance!)

You’ll get all this for the introductory price of $42.80. You’ll get 20% off at checkout, otherwise this bundle is $53.50. What a great deal! For all those living in BC, I know you’re in a rotten place right now, but what a wonderful way to document the horror you went through using this bundle. Same goes for all the wonderful people of Fort McMurray. You’re in the process of rebuilding, but why not use this kit as a way to document the strength and determination you had that got you through the worst days of your lives. Just a thought!

Back to my layout. The only reason I shared the Canada bundle with you (again), is because the title reminded me of it. I am Canadian, and proud of it. And, sometimes we do really Canadian things, like stop at Tim Hortons for a coffee, and then forget it on your tailgate while you go off and complete other errands while you’re in the big metropolis of Edmonton. Every Canadian does that- or has done it- right? On a good day, my husband does not like Tim Hortons, but this day was the exception. He really needed a coffee, and there was one near to where we needed to go in Edmonton. He set it down to do something, hopped in the truck, and off we went. We found it at our next stop. And, it hadn’t spilled! That was the best part.

The best part of creating the design in this layout was using up all the scraps lying on my desk. I cut them into strips and layered them behind the photo on the White Daisy card stock. I alternated the A and B sides of City Sidewalks patterned paper with the A side of Urban in a bit of an ombre pattern. I started with the lightest color and built on it until I reached the darkest color, and started again at the beginning. They both work well together, don’t they?

I also hid my journaling in this layout. I stamped a tag, cut it out, then jotted down my thoughts on it before tucking it behind the photo.

So, there you have it, eh? (Has any of my Canadian readers heard about the name change KFC is going through in honour of Canada’s 150th? What do you think of it?) If you’re not Canadian, the KFC chain has decided to incorporate ‘eh’ into their name, so KFC will become K’ehFC. Umm…I have no words. I’m all about being patriotic, but I’m not sure how I feel about this name change. Part of me hopes this is just a joke, but I don’t think it is.

Products Used:

-CTMH City Sidewalks paper packet (retired)

-CTMH Urban paper packet (retired)

-CTMH Pomegranate card stock X5780*

-CTMH White Daisy Card stock 1385

-CTMH Thankful Heart My Acrylix Stamp Set B1463 (retired)

-CTMH My Life Cricut Bundle My Acrylix Stamp Set D1572 (retired)

-CTMH True to Life My Acrylix Stamp Set C1575 (retired)

-CTMH Pomegranate Exclusives Ink Z2854

-CTMH Sweet Leaf Exclusives Ink Z2853

-CTMH Peacock Exclusives Ink Z2849

The star behind the pomegranate card stock is just to highlight that all CTMH card stock comes in 12×12 size.

Leave a Reply

