Five Ways to Use Your CTMH Scrap Papers

Since I got my new cell phone, I thought it would be a good idea to upload the pictures I’d taken to the computer. In less than a month, there was over 1400 pictures on my phone! I might be just a little camera crazy. I may have also been on vacation, and had a lot of things going on! LOL

And, since I uploaded the pictures from my phone to my computer, that also means whatever projects I had saved to my phone were also transferred to my computer. They were transferred out of order, unfortunately, and as a result, I accidentally shared a layout a bit sooner than I had planned. Minor little accident. I recovered the layouts that had been sent to my trash can on my phone, and will continue adding layouts here from there for the time being. There’ll be less confusion that way. Now I’ll be back to my regular order. I had better get some crafting done…I’m getting low on content to share with you!

So, back to Christmas in July. I have this layout and one other about Christmas in April, and then I’ll move on to something else.

Do you have a scrap pile that seems to keep growing instead of shrinking? Looking for ways to cull some of that scrap paper stash? Here are 5 ideas that I consistently use in my own crafting that you may find helpful!

Make your own journalling spots. I most often use my White Daisy card stock for things such as this, but I find that a lot of scraps end up in my box that are a good size for journaling on. (That’s usually about 3×4 or slightly larger). There’s still some room to stamp on the journaling box in addition to your notes. But, don’t limit yourself to White Daisy! Any solid card stock would work!

Make your own embellishments. All those scraps are perfect for stamping on, and then fussy cut to your hearts’ content! Use them to create embellishments to scatter around your project, use them to create punched borders, or pennants…the list goes on. In the layout above, you’ll see a star, bracket, flower, presents, and a pennant with a message stamped inside it. Those were all created from my scrap White Daisy papers.

Create the illusion your photos are matted. Rather than physically matting your photos on a large piece of patterned paper or card stock, trim it down and adhere it next to your photos. Your favourite papers’ life will be drastically lengthened this way! While it may add more to your scrap box (if the piece of paper you’re using is on the larger side), you’ll still have enough of that beloved paper to use on future projects instead of using it all up (or the majority of it) on one! I used this technique on the layout above. The City Sidewalks paper is adhered on either side of my photos on both pages. Think of them as the ‘book ends’ or brackets surrounding the photos.

Use your Cricut! Some of those scraps will be large enough to cut icons or titles from. If that’s how your paper originally became a scrap, use the space that’s still left for photo mats, journaling mats, borders, stamping and/or punching smaller items. You’ll likely have to trim off the pieces of paper that were cut, but you’ll be surprised to see how much paper is still left if you trim them down. Think outside the box. What can you do with the paper you have left after using your Cricut?

Alternatively, don’t be afraid to throw your smaller scraps through your Cricut, too. It is possible to use them, you’ll just have to make the items you’re cutting smaller. Sometimes, that takes a bit of trial and error, so maybe use a scrap of paper that you don’t care much about to get the sizing correct. Then, use your favourite paper to cut the final item! I cut my title using my Cricut. I used both White Daisy and Willow card stock to create the title.

Mat your photos with your scraps. Both patterned papers and card stock works to mat your photos. If you got really creative, you could also use scrap washi tape, shimmer tape, zip strips, stamps, or twine will work, as well!

All of the suggestions I listed above are ways that I use up my scrap paper stash. Most often, I stamp on my scraps and use them as photo mats and journaling spots on my layouts, but its not limited to just that. There’s no right or wrong, and the sky’s the limit. Get yourself outside the box, and do something different. Also, the suggestions I listed are probably just the tip of the iceberg. What are some ways you use up your scraps? I’d love to hear how you use them up!

What did you think of this blog post? I’d love to hear! Share what you thought in the comments below.

 

 

Leave a Reply

