Mid Summer Fiesta CTMH Online Crop

Summer is a busy time for a lot of people. It usually is for us, too, but it seems we have a lot of down time on our hands this year. We don’t have any real camping trips planned, and I couldn’t get the kids into swimming until late in August, so we’re scratching our heads on a (nearly) daily basis trying to think of things to do. Its also been hot, so we’ve been spending a lot of time in the basement, where its cool.

Even with all this downtime, I don’t seem to be able to get in my craft room for long- or at all. If I do, the words I hear most is ‘mom, mom, mom…’ and ‘I’m bored’. Tell me that again. I have LOTS to get done around here! I can easily put you to work! Can any mama’s relate? It wears a person down, especially when its on a constant basis.

I finally told my kids that I needed some ‘me time’ yesterday, and I played in my craft room for a couple of hours. While I was playing, an idea struck me. (Which also seems to account for the lack of playing in my craft room these days. The brain never stops working!) Sort of like the computer with 2785 tabs open meme that’s floating around these days. I know you can relate to that!

I have a couple card club workshops planned for September. Did you know that? I have one planned for my hometown, Whitecourt, and another for my home city, Edmonton. If you live in or around either of these areas, I’d love for you to join us! We’ll be creating 9 cards using three different designs. The club fee is $30 and covers all the materials you’ll need to create all those wonderful cards. It may also be less than $30. There will be times we’ll need less materials, so it won’t cost as much. It’ll also be a great time to meet new people and relax for a bit with out kids underfoot saying ‘mom, mom, mom…’. I’ll even provide the wine! How about that! Ha!

But, then another idea struck me. Why not host an online crop for those that are dying to get into their craft rooms, but aren’t able to, just like me? It’ll be a wonderful afternoon- gather whatever snacks and bevvies you want, skip on over to your craft area, turn on the computer, and join in the fun! I have a couple simple challenges planned (nothing more difficult than creating a card, layout- with a twist, of course- and an off the page project.) Anyone and everyone is welcome. If you don’t scrapbook or make cards, there’ll be something for you, too. And, the best part: there’ll be some prizes, too! Make sure to invite your friends and spread the word- there may be a prize for that, too. (The catch is they need to attend!) Your projects won’t need to be completed by the time the online crop is over. I’ll allow some time once the event is over for projects to be completed. Then I’ll draw prizes for the best project in each of those three categories. Doesn’t that sound enticing?! (I hope so!!)

The event is posted to my Facebook page– have you ever been there? Now is the time to check it out if you haven’t. If you scroll down a bit, you’ll find the event posting. If you can’t find it, comment on this post if you’re interested in joining! You’ll also find a bit of everything on my Facebook page, too- my projects, news, and blog posts. Get it all in one spot.

Even better, here’s the event posting. How’s that for efficiency!

Mark August 20 @ 1 pm (MST) on your calendars. That’s when all the fun begins.

*Just a note- there is NO fee to join the online crop. This is all just in the name of fun. The prizes will all be CTMH, as well. Depending on the popularity of this event, I may offer it every summer to kick off the pending years events’ following it. Join me and have some fun!

 

Leave a Reply

