Using CTMH Products With Other Companies

I created a layout recently with the purpose of showing you how easy it is to pair Close to My Heart products with other manufacturers. Come to think of it, I have a couple layouts to share that were made by mixing and matching different products with CTMH. Coordinating papers and embellishments is a lot easier than you might think. Would you like to see?


In the first two layouts above, I used patterned papers from Recollections- the first is travel themed, which I thought worked well with my pictures from our trip to Jasper in the early part of my ‘missing year’. (That would be 2014. Refer to this blog post to learn what I mean). The paper I used was also great for creating embellishments because it was reminiscent of the journaling card sheets that are included in paper packs that different manufacturers offer- especially if they’re on trend with the pocket page style of scrapbooking. Most, if not all, companies are, I believe.

You’ll also noticed I broke out Hello Foxy in that first layout, too. I just adore those little foxes!

In the next layout, a different Recollections collection makes a sneak appearance alongside my first attempt at using sponge inking. Read more about it here. In addition to Hello Foxy, I thought Woodland Romance and Jack worked well with my Jasper pictures and layouts, as well! I mixed the patterned papers from different manufacturers with mostly CTMH card stock and stamping. There’s little bits of CTMH patterned paper scraps scattered throughout these my layouts, as well. Even a zip strip! Can you guess where that zip strip is hiding?

(The pictures in the middle layout are some of my all time favourite pictures, ever. They turned out better than I could have hoped! Ever surprise yourself like that?)

Lastly, I used a full sheet of the now retired Fundamentals patterned paper from CTMH and paired it with Jillibean Soup embellishments. How fun is that bright and sunshiny background patterned paper? I’d love to get my hands on more of it, but unfortunately its retired. Boo. The paper embellishments from Jillibean Soup have lived in my stash for years. Literally. And, I thought they paired perfectly with that deliciously happy and sunny patterned paper in the background. It also worked well with some Little Dreamer, as well! I used a zip strip from one of the patterned papers (hint- its the purple strip along the right side of the page), and I cut a unicorn out from one of the journaling cards and adhered it over some JBS pennants and tags. I matted the photo of Miss M over top of some Little Dreamer patterned paper, as well. The stars in the upper right corner are from Carta Bella (which has also lived in my stash for many, many years. I think this stuff is even older than my children, and they’re nearly 8 years old!)

So, there you have it- three great ways to pair products from CTMH with other manufacturers! Of course, there are many other ways to pair products from other companies with CTMH, because there’s more products out there than just patterned paper and journaling spots! What companies are your favourite to mix and match? Do you create your own kits to scrapbook from, or do you fly by the seat of your pants- much like I do?

Leave a Reply

