The Silver Lining

Hello friends, I’m just dropping in to give you an update and let you know how things are going. We’ve been fighting an uphill battle, but I’m so happy to report that things are going well. My husband has been home for just over a week, now. He took two weeks off from work, and plans to ease into it once he does go back. Our schedule is very full of appointments over the next six weeks, and there will likely be more over the next 3 to 6 months. What my husband had is very serious, and we’re lucky (and grateful) that he walked away from it. He has what’s called Constrictive Pericarditis. It means that the lining surrounding his heart hardened from fluid that built up in it, so his poor heart is working harder to pump blood through his body. He still sweats (which he never sweated before this), but his stamina is returning, and he feels much better than he did previously. The medication he is on seems to be doing its job. Its rare for a person to develop pericarditis; however, it was confirmed, early on, that his rheumatoid arthritis (a pre-existing condition) was the culprit. We knew that he didn’t have it under control; we just never thought it would get this serious. The silver lining is that we’ve found a new rheumatologist (who already seems to be much better than K’s original rheumatologist. We don’t officially meet him until the 19th), but his students have been such a help to us while K was in the hospital. Even though K was admitted to the Cardiac Unit (and even spent two days in the Cardiac ICU), it was RA all along. And, its none too soon, because K seems to be experiencing joint pain again (associated with RA). He marvelled at the fact that while he was in the hospital, he had no flares. I eventually realized that the ‘flare’ was the pericarditis. Ugh.

But, since coming home, I’ve kept a close eye on K and spent as much time with him as I could (can). This morning was the first time in weeks that I felt comfortable enough to leave him and go for a walk on my own. (He actually had an appointment of his own that I wasn’t required for; it was for something minor and completely unrelated to the current events in our lives). When he goes back to work, he’ll be working 18+ hour days (as much as I dread him doing that) again, so I want to enjoy him as much as I possibly can! I’m so excited, because today we finally have a ‘down’ day, and he told me to scrapbook. I haven’t played in like 3 weeks! I’m really excited about it! (Yet, here I am putzing on the computer, LOL).

This past weekend was Thanksgiving here in Canada. It was a good weekend- we drove to Edmonton on Saturday to spend the day with my family, then yesterday we had my Father in Law and K’s dear friend over for dinner. I spent Sunday going apple crazy- check out my Facebook if you haven’t already. Here’s just a hint: imagine a milk crate 3/4 full of baking apples that need to be peeled, cored and chopped. That was me. (Happily. I considered it a labor of love. Mostly because I love this time of year!) K helped a bit, but I got the majority of it done myself. And, on top of it, I baked an apple crumble for dinner yesterday, a pistachio pie and 6 loaves of pumpkin loaf. I also wanted to make apple pie, but I forgot to get K to buy me lard while he was out at the grocery store! IF we get any more snow this week, I may just hunker down and get those pies done. Wednesday and Thursday are write offs, so it’ll have to be Friday.

Well, now that I’ve rambled on long enough, I’ll sign off here. I would hate to bore you with the mundane events and facts on my life. I will not be back (likely) again until next week, when my husband ventures out into the oil patch again. My presence here may be limited for the foreseeable future as I don’t know how consistently my husband will work. I will, however, make a point of dropping in when I can to keep you updated and share CTMH! Projects will be a bit yet until I’ve got some things to share with you 🙂 To all my fellow Canadians- Happy Thanksgiving! To everyone- I’ll see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

